Menu

07783 786297

info@whitelinenwhitby.com

Reviews

HotelsCombined: Excellent

Reviews from previous guests

We are pleased to provide reviews from our own website (Freetobook reviews) and other booking websites.  The original reviews can of course be seen on the appropriate sites.

Why are there only reviews from 2018 onwards?  We bought White Linen in Autumn 2017.  Following extensive refurbishment and re-decoration we re-opened for a couple of months in the Autumn of 2018 and then for the full summer season of 2019. We have provided a summary of our most-recent reviews in the grid below:


Our reviews from 2018 and 2019 are shown below. We do hope that reading these reviews will help you in your decision whether to stay with us at White Linen, Whitby.  If there is anything else that you would like to know please do not hesitate to contact us.

We look forward to welcoming you to White Linen, Whitby.

Malcolm & Bernie

Call or text: 07783 786297 or email: info@WhiteLinenWhitby.com  

Hotels.com

Hotels.com: Exceptional

10.0 Exceptional Sep 2019

Very high standards at the White Linen at Whitby. Spotless room with lots of extra little touches. The room is furnished matching the period of the house. Malcolm and Bernie very welcoming but not intrusive. After mentioning it was our anniversary they came straight back to our room with a bottle of bubbly. We will def be returning.

10.0 Exceptional Sep 2019

The owners Malcolm & Bernie have done a wonderful job , they have put a great deal of thought into what guests want and they provide it , but if something extra is required they are a call away and nothing is too much trouble. Cannot recommend the White Linen high enough.

10.0 Exceptional Sep 2019

Superb accommodation…no detail was too small for attention.

10.0 Exceptional Aug 2019

Great place to stay Such a lovely room with really good facilities. Central in Whitby and great access for walking around the town. Friendly and really welcoming and extremely helpful owners. Recommend White linen highly.

10.0 Exceptional Jul 2019

Superb accommodation.  The hotel is beautiful. Fantastic rooms. Everything thought of to great detail. Bottle water..chocolates..paraban free products. Fresh milk in fridge. Good selection of tea, coffee chocolate drinks and quality biscuits. Beautiful furniture and artwork( no horrible toilet brushes by the loo)..the whole house is elegant. Malcolm & Bernie are lovely hosts. Would definitely return.

10.0 Exceptional Jul 2019

A very warm welcome received from Bernie and Malcolm, beautiful accommodation in a perfect location for exploring in and around Whitby. Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend White Linen. Many thanks for an enjoyable stay.

10.0 Exceptional Jun 2019

Clean and spacious room with new coffee machine and mini fridge; stocked with milk, still and sparkling water. Very well positioned to town centre. No parking but this is available on nearby roads if you can find a space – 5 to 10 min walk. Would definitely recommend this hotel if you’re looking for peace, quality and comfort.

10.0 Exceptional  May 2019

We booked a short break for our anniversary, the weather wasn’t brilliant but the White linen was great, a very comfortable room with everything you could need and lots of nice touches dressing gowns and slippers, chocolates and a fridge with a bottle of milk none of those little fiddly cartons, our hosts were lovely and nothing was too much trouble, the location is great just a short walk into the town, there is no breakfast served but we found some great places to eat a short walk away.

10.0 Exceptional Apr 2019

Lovely stay. We had such a lovely stay at this hotel. Perfect location, plenty of lovely and thoughtful little touches in our room and fantastic amenities. The owners were so lovely and helpful to us and even left a complimentary bottle of prosecco in our room for my partners birthday. Couldn’t recommend enough!

10.0 Exceptional Apr 2019

Outstanding Guest House  The White Linen is an exceptional guest house. Malcolm & Bernie were very friendly and welcoming. The room (Endeavour) was outstanding! There is a coffee machine and fridge. The four poster bed was so comfortable. Whitby is a lovely place to visit and to stay at The White Linen makes it all the more special.

10.0 Exceptional Nov 2018

Excellent hosts loved the room and a short walk to the centre Nice little touches like a real coffee machine

10.0 Exceptional Aug 2019

Beautiful. Quality. Friendly.  Our first wedding anniversary and wanted to stay somewhere special and it did not disappoint. Bernie and Malcolm left something special in the fridge. The ne, t day we received a txd message if we needed anything and to enjoy our stay. The bed was heaven slept lovely. What a lovely couple and a lovely place will be booking again. Thank you Bernie and Malcolm x

Expedia

Expedia: Exceptional

5/5 Excellent  Nov 2019

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities

5/5 Excellent  Oct 2019

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

White Linen is in a prime location and within a few minutes walk to the harbour. The “Endeavour” room is stunning as is the whole building. It’s a real credit to the owners, Bernie & Malcom who are amazing hosts. They made our visit a very special one. There was nothing that we could have wished for more although had we wanted anything extra, I know that it would not have been any trouble for Bernie & Malcolm. I would thoroughly recommend staying here & I should I return there is no doubt what so ever, this is where I shall book.

5/5 Excellent Sep 2019

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

Fabulous stay at White Linen.  White Linen is located a convenient 5 minute walk from the harbour side pubs and restaurants. The room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Our hosts, Malcolm and Bernie, couldn’t have been more helpful. Will definitely stay here again next time we’re in Whitby.

5/5 Excellent Aug 2019

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

Fantastic hotel, warm welcome, great location.  Amazing.. loved every minute of it This hotel is perfect … would definitely recommend it…. Amazing location..central beyond belief…. parking a bit of a nightmare… but we got lucky to park near the hotel. The little touches…which were plenty… went along way throughout our short stay ….no room service….. AMAZING… Thank you so much for making our short getaway…extra special Would go again tomorrow!

5/5 Excellent Jul 2019

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

Exceeding expectations  Fantastico stay, we were made very welcome. Nothing was tomuch trouble. the room was spot on, clean, tidy. Extra items just incase.

5/5 Excellent  Jul 2019

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

5/5 Excellent Jul 2019

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

Relaxing Two Night Break.  A very warm welcome received from Bernie and Malcolm, beautiful accommodation in a perfect location for exploring in and around Whitby. Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend White Linen. Many thanks for an enjoyable stay.

5/5 Excellent Jul 2019

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities

Malcolm and Bernie were so friendly and accommodating. They even helped lug our many suitcases with us (we are on a long trip). The accommodation is beautiful, very well maintained and is so central to Whitby. Thanks again, Malcolm and Bernie, for a wonderful stay!

5/5 Excellent May 2019

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

A1 weekend break in Whitby.  Fantastic stay at a wonderful hotel

5/5 Excellent Apr 2019

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities

Brilliant location. Very helpful and friendly proprietors. Beautifully decorated and exceptionally clean. Highly recommended.

5/5 Excellent  Apr 2019

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

Wonderful!  Such wonderful hosts who have renovated their Georgian home beautifully! Can’t wait to come back and stay at The White Linen!

5/5 Excellent 19 Feb 2019

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

5/5 Excellent Nov 2018

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

Amazing guest house.  Gorgeous guest house, the whole place was recently refurbished and to a very high standard. They don’t offer breakfast however coffee’s etc are in the room including milk in a mini fridge and on the help book in the room they recommended the best places to eat and what’s local, very informative. Malcolm & Bernie are the most attentive, thoughtful and nice people you could ever meet. They were very warm in welcoming us, I felt like I was in a 5* hotel

Freetobook

Aug 2019

Location 5 – Excellent, Cleanliness 5 – Excellent, Facilities 4 – Good, Service / Staff 5 – Excellent 

House was beautiful, room was beautiful and fully equipped. Malcolm and Bernie were perfect hosts. Didn’t want to go out as I was very at home in the room. Loved it. Thank you.

Aug 2019

Location 5 – Excellent, Cleanliness 5 – Excellent, Facilities 4 – Good, Service / Staff 5 – Excellent

A lovely place for a weekend escape. The property is beautiful and spotlessly clean and Malcolm and Bernie were wonderful hosts. Lots of nice touches, such as coffee, milk, water and delicious chocolates/biscuits and a really easy walk to the bars and restaurants of Whitby.

The only negatives would be the parking (a feature of Whitby) and the water pressure/hot water which you would expect of a listed building. We had a great stay and would highly recommend!

Tips for other travellers:  The nearby Robin Hood Bay and Boggle Hole is definitely worth the hike. Great coffee and cake at the YHA! Mademoiselles has a great gin selection and loved the great social atmosphere in the Moon and Sixpence!

(Owner’s note:  Unfortunately, there is nothing we can do about the shortage of parking in Whitby, but we have now improved our hot water pressure to all rooms by installing a booster pump.  Thank you for bringing it to our attention.)  

Aug 2019

 Location 5 – Excellent, Cleanliness 5 – Excellent, Facilities 5 – Excellent, Service / Staff 5 – Excellent

Absolutely amazing.. love this little gem..close to the town centre  No room service… which was great..our room was ours.. no interruptions whatsoever we could come and go as we liked.  Check in was great.  Would definatly go back again. 

Tips for other travellers. The Abbey and micro bar was great.  Harry’s bar, Mr chips and the local curry house were all great.  The many pubs are wonderful.  Go on board the ship for a drink.  The Whitby bay bar was very accommodating and pleasant.

Jul 2019

Location 5 – Excellent, Cleanliness 5 – Excellent, Facilities 5 – Excellent, Service / Staff 5 – Excellent

A brilliant guest house, with a nice touch of luxury about it, ran by a lovely couple who made us feel extremely welcome. We very highly recommend a stay at The White Linen.

Tips for other travellers: An excellent variety of very good breakfast dishes available at Botham Tea rooms and their chips are excellent; far better than the famous Trenchers chip shop which we found rather underwhelming and overhyped. If Indian food is what you fancy, The Passage to India is well worth a visit.

Jun 2019

Location 5 – Excellent, Cleanliness 5 – Excellent, Facilities 5 – Excellent, Service / Staff 5 – Excellent

Very friendly welcome, no expense been spared, everything outstanding very, very happy.

Jun 2019

Location 5 – Excellent, Cleanliness 5 – Excellent, Facilities 5 – Excellent, Service / Staff 5 – Excellent

Very friendly and helpful.

Tips for other travellers:  Whitby Deli for breakfast, Trenchers for lunch and French restaurant (can’t remember the name) for dinner. They all had exceptionally good food.

Jun 2019 

A warm welcome and an excellent stay.

May 2019

Location 5 – Excellent, Cleanliness 5 – Excellent, Facilities 5 – Excellent, Service / Staff 5 – Excellent

Fantastic accommodation, really pleasant greeting and perfectly managed our two days. If you are looking for a great break on Whitby then cannot recommend highly enough.

Tips for other travellers: The Star Inn the Harbour. Moon and Sixpence. Railway walk from Marina Car Park to Ruswarp and back. Ravenscar for seal watching. The Abbey is a great visit too .

May 2019

Location 5 – Excellent, Cleanliness 5 – Excellent, Facilities 5 – Excellent, Service / Staff 5 – Excellent

Room was fantastic. Lovely sitting area. Fresh milk in fridge for brew. Plenty tea and coffee. Chocolates, bath robes and slippers, lush carpet. Better than many 4 star hotels I’ve stayed in.  Well worth it.  Two minute walk from facilities.

May 2019

Location 5 – Excellent, Cleanliness 5 – Excellent, Facilities 5 – Excellent, Service / Staff 5 – Excellent

This was our second visit to White Linen and this time under new ownership. The new owners Malcolm and Bernie have made a wonderful job of redecorating this beautiful Georgian house, which is perfectly located.  They went out of their way to ensure our stay was as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.  White Linen is immaculate and clean throughout and we would thoroughly recommend to others.

Tripadvisor

Nov 19 Just lovely 5/5

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in the Resolution Room. The room was lovely. Malcolm and Bernie checked us in and explained everything very well and were most welcoming. We actually prefer this room only model and enjoyed finding our own places to eat. We got a nice text to ask if we needed anything (we didn’t) and were otherwise left to our own devices. Next time we go to Whitby we know where we will be staying.

Oct 19 Beautiful relaxing weekend 5/5

Wow, what can I say. Malcolm and Bernie are such wonderful hosts. They advised us where we could park and issued us with a road permit. They let us leave our luggage at lunchtime whilst we went for a wander and when we returned at 3 and went in our room our jaws dropped. What a stunning, spacious and spectacular room. We were in the Endeavour and its is huge and like a home from home. Beautifully decorated and felt so relaxed and lovely. A lot of care and attention to detail has gone into this guesthouse. We got a couple of friendly texts over the weekend asking if we needed supplies topping up and if there was anything we could do, and they also gave us hints on where to go to eat and sight see. Such pleasant and accommodating people and the nicest place I have ever stayed in in my life. We are planning our next relaxing weekend here in April 2020 and can’t wait to stay over again. Thank you so much for everything.

October 2019 Beautiful room 5/5

What a fantastic top class room. Bernice and Malcolm are excellent, attentive and friendly hosts. Thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Can’t recommend highly enough to anyone.

September 2019 Beautiful hotel 5/5

We stayed for the weekend, we were met by the owners on arrival, and provided with permits to park our car just behind the hotel. The room was beautiful, had everything we could possibly need. The owners provide a discrete service, so don’t bother you in person but sent a quick text asking if we needed anything, and dropped off an iron straight way. Location is very central and a couple of minutes away from the centre.

Jun 2019 Very relaxing stay 5/5

Beautifully restored building. Rooms are excellent quality with all the facilities you need and more. Spotlessly clean with complimentary Duck Island toiletries, Harrogate Spa water, Tassimo coffee machine, little fridge, chocolates and biscuits, bath robes and Slippers also provided.  Very comfy bed, original sash and shutters on the windows.  Owners are very friendly and provide lots of info on the area in the welcome folder.  If you are looking for a relaxing weekend this is just the place.

May 2019 Weekend break made special 5/5

We stayed here for a weekend break and were not disappointed. The room we stayed in (“Adventure”) was spacious and very tastefully decorated with plenty of space. The facilities were very good with plenty of consumables and more available any time. The best example of the thought that has gone into the place is perhaps the size of the mugs – proper chunky things you can make a real drink in. So easy to provide, but rare to find! The hands-off approach suited us; very friendly hosts who were there if needed but never if the way. We will be back!

April 2019 Three night getaway gift 5/5

Beautiful guest house, in a perfect location. Lovely room, very clean and fabulous friendly hosts. Short stroll to the town, with everything you need right on your doorstep. Would happily stay here again, without hesitation. 10 out of 10!!

Nov 2018 Fabulous 5/5

Recently had the pleasure of staying for two nights which was a lovely gift from our daughter. The accommodation is ideally situated very close to the harbour. We were greeted by the very pleasent owners Malcolm and Bernie. Our room was absolutely gorgeous with lots of lovely touches. There were an ample supply of refreshments including a table top fridge for milk. Beautifully refurbished an absolute credit to the owners. We have stayed in Whitby many many times but The White Linen certainly outshines the others. We will certainly be returning in 2019.

Nov 2018 Fabulous place 5/5

We recently stayed here for 2 nights. What can I say…. perfect! In a great location, top quality products in the room, comfy bed, spotlessly clean. Beautifully decorated. Lots of room. Everything we needed for a perfect stay. The hosts where lovely too :o) I would highly recommend this place.

Nov 2018 It’s what it says on the tin 5/5

I recently stayed at the White Linen Hotel with my dearly beloved and we had a wonderful time. We were greeted on Friday night by the lovely Malcom and Bernie, it was such a lovely welcome and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The room was immaculate and we loved all the extra touches! We will definitely be staying again and would highly recommend.

Booking.com

Booking.com: Exceptional

Overall rating: 9.8 Exceptional

What guests loved the most:

“Situated close to the train station and the main areas if interest in Whitby. This beautifully restored historic house affords you luxury with the most comfortable of beds.”

“The hosts were there to welcome us on arrival but, then left us to our privacy. Safe in the knowledge they were on hand should we need them.” Nicola, United Kingdom

“Beautifully decorated, clean, bathrobes and slippers. Coffee machine and fridge.” Donna United Kingdom

“Loved the property and the warm welcome, location and facilities.” Michelle, United Kingdom

“Our stay for my partners birthday was absolutely outstanding! Couldn’t of asked for a better weekend!  The owners were very kind and welcoming and even went the extra mile of making sure the flowers I ordered were in the room before our arrival and also so kindly gifted us a bottle of prosecco to celebrate. The room was very clean and comfortable, definitely worth the little bit extra with a great location close to the bay front. Will happily stay here again! 😁” Daniel, United Kingdom

“Fantastic place to stay for our 10th Anniversary. Owners even popped a bottle of prosecco in the fridge for us. Thank you. ” Dean, United Kingdom

“The rooms are beautiful the hosts are very welcoming and friendly great place to stay” Rebecca, United Kingdom

“Location was excellent staff very good it had a very nice feel to the place” Andrew United Kingdom

“The property itself looks stunning from outside and the quality is maintained in the rooms. Excellent facilities throughout. Bath robes, tea and coffee, toiletries all add to the experience. Malcolm and Bernie are welcoming and helpful hosts. The ideal location added to all this makes it the best place to stop in Whitby. ” Paul, United Kingdom

“Beautiful rooms with added extra touches. Very clean, great facilities Near to the centre with restaurants and bars. ” Amanda, United Kingdom

“Brilliant central location, wonderful greeting, lovely room” Richard, United Kingdom